@AU_Lacrosse Earns Individual, Team Academic Accolades from IWLCA

Team during the National Anthem before Holy Cross

WASHINGTON – For the 10th time in the last 11 years, the American University lacrosse team has earned itself a spot among the top tier of programs across the country academically, as AU was selected as an Academic Honor Squad by the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA).

Nine Eagles also earned individual accolades as Casey Aguilar-Gervase, Leah Brennan, Sydney Fry, Fiona Geier, Casey Harkins, Izabella Jade, Amanda Medjid, Erica Skowron, and Katie Wood were among the 509 student-athletes selected to the IWLCA Division I Academic Honor Roll.

For a team to qualify for the Academic Honor Squad, it must have posted a 3.0 or higher team GPA for the academic year. Individual honor roll selections are awarded to juniors, seniors, or graduate students who have maintained a cumulative GPA of 3.50 or higher.

Of the nine Eagles who earned spots on the honor roll, four were seniors with Aguilar-Gervase, Brennan, Fry, and Geier all closing their AU careers this past spring. Fry and Geier graduated with degrees in neuroscience and health promotion, respectively, while Brennan completed her Master's in health promotion management. Aguilar-Gervase is continuing her Master's in biostatics at AU this year.

For the latest on American University Lacrosse, stay tuned to AUEagles.com and follow the team on Twitter @AU_Lacrosse.


Casey Aguilar-Gervase, Sr.
Leah Brennan, Sr.
Sydney Fry, Sr.
Fiona Geier, Sr.
Casey Harkins, Jr.
Izabella Jade, Jr.
Amanda Medjid, Jr.
Erica Skowron, Jr.
Katie Wood, Jr.
Biostatistics (M.S.)
Health Promotion Management (M.S.)
Health Promotion
Public Health
Justice and Law
Business Administration
Business Administration
CLEG (Communication, Legal Institutions, Economics, and Government)