Three Selected as NFHCA Scholars of Distinction

Aidan Rossman, Maura Jacobs and Annaka Groschinski - 2018 NFHCA Scholars of Distinction

NFHCA Release

GILBERT, Ariz. - Three members of the American University field hockey team were selected as 2018 Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Division I Scholars of Distinction, the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) released on Monday.

Seniors Maura Jacobs and Annaka Groschinski and freshman Aidan Rossman were among the 140 student-athletes from across the country to be selected for the honor making this the second time in program history that three Eagles have earned the distinction in the same season.

The Division I Scholars of Distinction program recognizes student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative grade-point average of 3.90 or higher through the first semester of the 2018-19 academic year.

Jacobs, who earned her second consecutive Patriot League Scholar-Athlete of the Year honor to cap off a thrilling career in the fall, now joins Natalie Konerth as the only two players in program history to have been selected as Scholars of Distinction all four years. The public relations and strategic communication major graduated in December with an impressive 3.96 cumulative GPA.

This is the first award for both Groschinski and Rossman who were among the 15 AU players selected to the Zag/NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad last week. Groschinski, a justice and law major with a 3.90 cumulative GPA, closed her final season in the red, white and blue with her first selection to the Academic All-Patriot League Field Hockey team. Rossman tied off her impressive debut season with a 3.96 cumulative GPA.

For the latest on American University Field Hockey, stay tuned to and follow the team on Twitter @AU_FieldHockey.