Sixteen Selected to NFHCA National Academic Squad

16 members of the 2017 AU field hockey team were selected to the National Academic Squad

WASHINGTON – Sixteen American University field hockey players were honored by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) on Thursday as members of the 2017 Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad. 

This is only the latest NFHCA honor for the Eagles after the team earned its 15th consecutive National Academic Team Award last week and junior Maura Jacobs and freshman Meagan Mitchell were both selected as Zag/NFHCA Scholars of Distinction.

The Division I National Academic Squad program recognizes those student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.30 or higher through the first semester of the 2017-18 academic year.

American led the Patriot League and was one of 18 schools across the country to have 16 or more student-athletes represented on the National Academic Squad. Brown University led all schools with 23 selections. 

Seniors Haley Bowcutt and Leah DiGiandomenico led the way for the Eagles with their fourth consecutive honors.

Seniors Samantha McCormick and Alexandra Morris and juniors Annaka Groschinski, Maura Jacobs, Rafaela Rubas and Rachel Stefano were all selected for the third time in their careers while junior Megan Benson and sophomore Kathryn Roncoroni both made their second appearances on the squad.

Senior Anne Waverly Spencer, junior Lucy Whalley, sophomore Jette Dieckmann and freshman Ella Arata, Lauren Fredricks and Meagan Mitchell all made the squad for the first time in their careers.

For the latest on American Field Hockey, stay tuned to and follow the team on Twitter @AU_FieldHockey.