@AU_WBasketball Releases 2017-18 Schedule

2017-18 Women's Basketball schedule graphic

Full Schedule

WASHINGTON - A strong nonconference slate, featuring three postseason qualifiers from the 2016-17 season, is among the highlights from the American University women's basketball schedule, released by head coach Megan Gebbia on Friday.

The Eagles, who closed the 2016-17 season with an overall record of 15-16 (11-7 PL), will open their 2017-18 campaign on the road, traveling to Tulsa for an evening contest on Friday, Nov. 10.

AU opens its home schedule the following week, hosting La Salle on Monday, Nov. 13, before spending the remainder of November on the road with games at Delaware (Nov. 16) and George Mason (Nov. 20).

The Eagles will spend Thanksgiving in Burlington, Vermont, at the TD Bank Classic, where they will play host Vermont on Friday, Nov. 24, followed by either James Madison or Villanova on Saturday, Nov. 25. Both JMU and Villanova were qualifiers in the 2017 WNIT and advanced to the third round, where Villanova knocked out JMU in overtime, 69-67, before falling in the semifinals.

AU will close November at UMBC on Nov. 29 before returning home for a two-game stretch against Youngstown State (Dec. 2) and Denver (Dec. 9). The Eagles' only road game in December will be on Sunday, Dec. 17, when the Eagles make the quick trip to crosstown rival and 2017 WNIT qualifier, George Washington.

The team will be back home for the final two games of 2017, hosting another WNIT qualifier in Penn State on Wednesday, Dec. 20, before opening Patriot League play against 2017 league champ and NCAA Tournament qualifier, Bucknell on Friday, Dec. 29.

The Eagles will celebrate the 2018 senior class on Saturday, Feb. 17, during the game against Lafayette, and will close the regular-season home slate the following Wednesday (Feb. 21) against Holy Cross. The final two games of the regular-season schedule will be on the road, as AU travels to Bucknell on Saturday, Feb. 24, and Navy on Wednesday, Feb. 28.

For the latest on AU Women's Basketball, stay tuned to AUEagles.com and follow the team on Twitter @AU_WBasketball.