@AU_Wrestling Places Eight on Academic All-EIWA

2018-19 AU Wrestling Team Photo

BETHLEHEM, Pa. – Led by three-time honorees Michael Sprague and Josh Terao, American University placed eight student-athletes on the Eastern Intercollegiate Wrestling Association list of Academic Achievement Awards, the league announced Tuesday.

Kizhan Clarke, Gage Curry and Anthony Wokasch earned back-to-back honors, while Jack Mutchnik also was selected for the second time. Abraham Correa-Medina and Tanner Harvey were first-time honorees for the Eagles.

American's eight award winners matched Brown, Drexel and Lehigh for the most by any school. The total also eclipsed the seven Eagles honored last year.

"Our wrestlers put a great effort into their academics," said AU head coach Teague Moore. "It's an honor to have eight of them recognized and continue a great tradition of  excellence both on and off the mat."

In the four seasons the EIWA has recognized academic achievement, American University has earned 30 awards, including 10 after the 2017 season.

In order to be selected, a student-athlete must have a cumulative GPA of 3.20 and participated in the EIWA Tournament, or have a 3.0 GPA and qualified for the NCAA Tournament.


EIWA Academic Achievement Awards - AU

Kizhan Clarke, RSo. (3.56, Justice & Law)

Abraham Correa-Medina, RSo. (3.79, Biology)

Gage Curry, RSo. (3.12, Film & Media Arts)

Tanner Harvey, RSo. (3.08, Business Administration)

Jack Mutchnik, RSr. (3.76, Finance)

Michael Sprague, RSr. (3.75, Health Promotion Management)

Josh Terao, RSr. (3.80, Biology)

Anthony Wokasch, RSo. (3.91, Biology)