Pre-Seeds Announced for EIWA Tournament

Jeric Kasunic battles an opponent this season.

AU Tournament Notes

HEMPSTEAD, N.Y. – Josh Terao and Gage Curry earned No. 3 seeds as the Eastern Intercollegiate Wrestling Association released pre-seeding information for this weekend's EIWA Championships to be held at Hofstra.

The 114th annual EIWA Tournament will be hosted at Hofstra University. First-round matches begin on Saturday at 11 a.m., with two sessions scheduled on Saturday and Sunday. The finals begin at 3 p.m. on Sunday.

Terao, ranked third at 133 pounds was 11th in the nation in the most recent NCAA Coaches' Panel. Curry, a redshirt freshman, will be in the 125-pound bracket, where defending national champion Darian Cruz of Lehigh was the top seed.

Jeric Kasunic, tied for eighth in the most recent NCAA ranking, was at No. 5 seed at 197 in the pre-seeds. Michael Sprague, 18th nationally at 149, and Brett Dempsey, 26th at heavyweight, were also pre-seeded fifth for the weekend.

Kizhan Clarke (7th at 141) and Eric Hong (9th at 157) also earned pre-seeding votes from the EIWA committee.

The pre-seeds are subject to review of the league's coaches, who will meet on Friday to determine final seeding and the brackets.

Last week, the NCAA announced allocations for EIWA finishers for the NCAA Nationals – 125 (1), 133 (3), 141 (4), 149 (4), 157 (6), 165 (6), 174 (4), 184 (7), 197 (6), 285 (5).

Following this weekend's conference championships around the nation, the NCAA will offer at-large berths to finalize the field of 330 wrestlers for the national championships, to be held March 15-17 in Cleveland.

Video of the tournament will be available with a subscription to FloWrestling at