Wrestling Hosts Old Dominion in Non-Conference Match

Wrestling Hosts Old Dominion in Non-Conference Match

WASHINGTON – The American University wrestling team is back in Bender Arena on Sunday for its second of three consecutive home matches.  The Eagles will take on Old Dominion at noon for their first non-conference contest since the AU Duals on Jan. 6.

American is 3-8 overall for the season and 0-7 in EIWA Duals.  The Monarchs enter the season at 6-9 overall and 2-5 in the MAC. 

Three AU wrestlers landed in the most recent NCAA Coaches Poll, released by the national office on Feb. 5.  Sophomore Josh Terao leads the team with a No. 10 rank in the 125-pound weight class, followed by senior Esteban Gomez-Rivera (133) at No. 26 and junior Jeric Kasunic at No. 29 (197).

Six Eagles appeared in the first release of the poll on Jan. 20, with sophomore Jack Mutchnik (No. 30 – 141), sophomore Michael Sprague (No. 30 – 149) and senior Jason Grimes (No. 30 – 184) joining Terao, Gomez-Rivera and Kasunic.

AU closed its regular season conference duals on Feb. 5, falling to Binghamton at home on Sunday, Feb. 5, 25-11.  Terao, Kasunic and senior Tom Page tallied the only three individual wins of the day.  Both Page and Kasunic registered decisions against Binghamton's Tristan Rifanburg and Mark Tracy, respectively, while Terao took down his sixth tech. fall of the season with a 16-0 score against Steve Bulzomi.

Old Dominion clinched its second MAC victory on Friday, Feb. 10, with a 19-18 criteria win over Ohio. 

The Monarchs landed four athletes in the most recent NCAA Coaches Poll, starting with senior Jack Dechow who comes in at No. 8 for the 184-pound weight class.  Junior Kevin Beazley is next at No. 14 for 197-pounds, followed by sophomore Seldon Wright (165) at No. 21 and senior Michael Hayes (149) at No. 27.

All four registered wins against Ohio with Hayes, Dechow and Beazley all tallying major decisions.

The Eagles will return home one final time on Friday, Feb. 17, to host George Mason starting at 7 p.m.  The match will also double as senior day, with Esteban Gomez-Rivera, Jason Grimes, Cole Moseley, Tom Page and Joe Salvi all honored as members of the 2017 graduating class.  For the latest on AU Wrestling, stay tuned to AUEagles.com and follow the team on Twitter @AU_Wrestling.

125: #10 Josh Terao
133: #26 Esteban Gomez-Rivera
141: Jack Mutchnik
149: Michael Sprague
157: Tom Page
165: Cole Moseley or Michael Eckhart
174: Joe Salvi
184: Jason Grimes
197: #29 Jeric Kasunic
285: Brett Dempsey

125: Steven Simpson (5-17)
133: Alex Madrigal (8-8)
141: Kevin Budock (18-11)
149: #27 Michael Hayes (14-10)
157: Larry Early (12-5) or Austin Eads (10-10)
165: #21 Seldon Wright (16-7)
174: Antonio Agee (8-11)
184: #8 Jack Dechow (22-3)
197: #14 Kevin Beazley (18-4)
285: Will Hilliard (6-14)

*Rankings by the NCAA Coaches Poll (Feb. 5)