John Boyle Advances to EIWA Finals

John Boyle Advances to EIWA Finals

PRINCETON, N.J. – American University senior captain John Boyle won his semifinal match on Sunday to advance to the finals at the 2016 Eastern Intercollegiate Wrestling Association Championships.

Senior David Terao (125), junior Tom Page (149), redshirt senior Mitchell Wightman (165) and sophomore Jeric Kasunic (197) will all wrestle for fifth place in this afternoon's session, while redshirt senior Tyler Scotton claimed seventh place at 141 pounds.

In his semifinal match at 157 pounds, Boyle entered the third period trailing 2-0. After a quick escape to start the third, Boyle scored a takedown to pull ahead. Staudenmayer was able to get an escape to tie the match, but not before Boyle had accumulated enough riding time for an extra point. The riding time point proved to be the difference in Boyle's 3-2 victory.

Terao dropped a heartbreaking overtime decision in his semifinal match, falling to second-seed Darian Cruz of Lehigh 4-3 in the first tiebreaker. After a controversial call sent the match into overtime, Cruz went on to win in the first tiebreaker by scoring an escape.

Meanwhile, Terao came up short in the consolation semifinals, dropping a 4-0 decision to Cornell's Dalton Macri.

Page, also competing in the semifinals, lost a tough 5-3 decision to fifth-seed Joe Galasso of Cornell in the semifinals before giving up a technical fall to third-seeded Laike Gardner of Lehigh.

Kasunic, American's fourth semifinalist, also dropped his first two matches on Sunday, losing a 7-2 decision to Army West Point's Bryce Barnes before losing a 6-2 decision to Cornell's Owen Scott.

In the consolation quarterfinals, Scotton dropped a 6-3 decision to Hofstra's Jamel Hudson. However, he came back with a strong performance in the seventh-place match, scoring a late takedown to secure a 3-1 decision over Cornell's Dylan Realbuto.

Meanwhile, Wightman won his consolation quarterfinal match, earning a 3-2 decision over Drexel's Austin Rose, but came up short in the next round, dropping a 3-2 decision to Columbia's Tyrel White.

The final session of the EIWA Championships is slated to begin today at 3:30 p.m.