Wrestling Ranked 8th by InterMat; NCAA Brackets Released Wednesday

Wrestling Ranked 8th by InterMat; NCAA Brackets Released Wednesday

The American University wrestling team has been ranked eighth in this week’s InterMat College Rankings, just days removed from its program-record fourth-place finish at the 107th EIWA Championships.

Steve Fittery, Ryan Flores and Matt Mariacher each won an individual championship at the EIWA’s to lead American to its fourth-place finish, marking a program record for most individual titles won at the event. They were joined on the podium by third-place finisher Daniel Mitchell, fourth-place finishers Ganbayar Sanjaa and Patrick Graham, and seventh-place finisher Nick Arjau.

To read a complete recap of the 107th EIWA Championships or to view highlights from the tournament, click here.

Five Eagles were also featured in the latest InterMat Rankings, including Fittery who remains as the top-ranked wrestler at 157 lbs. for a 15th consecutive week. The junior is a perfect 28-0 this season and has recorded bonus points in 22 of his victories. Flores, meanwhile, has moved from No. 3 to No. 2 at heavyweight after his title run and has picked up six victories this season over opponents currently ranked in the top 10. Flores is 22-5 overall with nine falls, two tech-falls and two major decisions.

Sanjaa remains ranked as the No. 8 wrestler at 149 lbs. with a 22-6 record. Mariacher moved up two positions to No. 12 at 149 lbs. while his 30-7 overall mark is tied for the fifth most wins in program history. Mitchell also moved up in this week’s rankings, going from No. 18 to No. 17, and has matched Mariacher’s record of 30-7 on the year.

By virtue of their performances this past weekend, Fittery, Flores, Mariacher, Mitchell, Sanjaa and Graham have each earned an automatic berth to the 2011 NCAA Championships, marking the first time American will send six student-athletes to Nationals. The complete brackets for this year’s tournament, including the 48 remaining at-large qualifiers, will be announced Wednesday, March 9 at 6:00 p.m. on NCAA.com. To watch the selection show or for more information on the NCAA Championships, click here.