Nelson, Boonyasith Earn All-Patriot League Honors

JB and Sa'eed

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. — American University men's basketball junior Sa'eed Nelson and freshman Jacob Boonyasith each earned a spot on the All-Patriot League Teams, as announced by the league office on Monday. 

Nelson, a three-time selectee, earned a spot on the All-PL First Team after previously being voted to the All-Rookie and All-Second Team in his first two seasons at American.

Boonyasith is the fifth Eagle under head coach Mike Brennan to earn a nod on the All-PL Rookie team. American has placed a rookie on the all-rookie squad four straight years, starting with Delante Jones in 2015-16 followed by Nelson and Mark Gasperini in 2015-16 and Sam Iorio in 2017-18.

Nelson, finished second in the Patriot League in scoring, averaging 19.5 points per game. He was second in steals per game (2.4), seconds in minutes played per game (36.4) and fourth in assists per game (5.3). Nelson scored in double figures in all but one games this season and had a season-high 30 points against Boston University to open PL play.

Boonyasith averaged 4.7 points per game and came on strong late in the season with five double-digit performances in the final 10 games. He had a season-high 20 points against Army West Point and averaged 18.0 points in the Holy Cross series. Boonyasith claimed three PL Rookie of the Week awards and is one of four players to ever win the award three or more times in the final month of the season. He joins C.J. McCollum (Lehigh), Marquis Hall (Lehigh), Kendall Chones (Colgate) and Kevin Bettencourt (Bucknell) on the list of multiple weekly winners.

The Patriot League major awards and all-League teams were voted on by Patriot League men's basketball head coaches, who could not vote for their own student-athletes or themselves.

2018-19 Men's Basketball All-Patriot League Team and Major Awards
Player of the Year: Rapolas Ivanauskas, Colgate (Jr., F)
Defensive Player of the Year: Jehyve Floyd, Holy Cross (Sr., F)
Rookie of the Year: Tucker Richardson, Colgate (Fr., G)
Coach of the Year: Matt Langel, Colgate
First-Team All-Patriot League
Sa'eed Nelson, American (Jr., G)
Kimbal Mackenzie, Bucknell (Sr., G)
Rapolas Ivanauskas, Colgate (Jr., F)
Lance Tejada, Lehigh (Sr., G)
Andrew Kostecka, Loyola Maryland (Jr., G)
Second-Team All-Patriot League
Max Mahoney, Boston University (Jr., F)
Nate Sestina, Bucknell (Sr., F)
Jordan Burns, Colgate (So., G)
Will Rayman, Colgate (Jr., F)
Jehyve Floyd, Holy Cross (Sr., F)
Third-Team All-Patriot League
Tommy Funk, Army West Point (Jr., G)
Justin Jaworski, Lafayette, (So., G)
Jordan Cohen, Lehigh (Jr., G)
Kyle Leufroy, Lehigh (Sr., G)
Hasan Abdullah, Navy (Sr., G)
All-Defensive Team
Bruce Moore, Bucknell (Jr., F)
Will Rayman, Colgate (Jr., F)
Jehyve Floyd, Holy Cross (Sr., F)
Andrew Kostecka, Loyola Maryland (Jr., G)
Hasan Abdullah, Navy (Sr., G)
All-Rookie Team
Jacob Boonyasith, American (Fr., G)
Jonas Harper, Boston University (Fr., G)
Tucker Richardson, Colgate (Fr., G)
Jaylin Andrews, Loyola Maryland (Fr., G)
John Carter Jr., Navy (Fr., G)