Reed Named Patriot League Men's Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Reed Named Patriot League Men's Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year

American University sophomore guard Jesse Reed is the Eagles' third major award winner as conference officials have named him the Patriot League Men's Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

The second-year swingman joins Patriot League Coach of the Year Mike Brennan and Defensive Player of the Year Tony Wroblicky as AU's major award winners.

Reed was one of the most improved players in the Patriot League this season, and his play was a contributing factor for an Eagles team picked to finish ninth in the preseason that went on to placesecond overall with a 13-5 record. Reed ranks fourth in the Patriot League with 14.2 points per game for the season, and was even better in League play at third with 15.1 ppg. He is second in 3-point field goal percentage both overall(49.1%) and in league games (51.9%), and stands in the top-10 in overall and Patriot League only field-goal percentage.

Reed, who earned second-team All-Patriot League status on Monday, headlines the Academic All-Patriot League Team comprised of Lafayette juniors Seth Hinrichs and Joey Ptasinski, Bucknell graduate student Brian Fitzpatrick and Loyola sophomore Franz Rassman. 

Reed was one of American' 11 Patriot League Academic Honor Roll selections as a freshman, and carries a 3.41 grade-point average as a Business Administration major at AU. He becomes the first Eagle to win the Scholar-Athlete of the Year award.


Patriot League Scholar-Athlete of the Year 

Jesse Reed, American (So.)

Men's Basketball Academic All-Patriot League Team
Brian Fitzpatrick, Bucknell (Gr.)
Seth Hinrichs, Lafayette (Jr.)
Joey Ptasinski, Lafayette (Jr.)
Jesse Reed, American (So.)
Franz Rassman, Loyola (So.)