Seven Eagles Named to NABC Honors Court


Seven members of the American University men's basketball team have been named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches 2011-12 Honors Court. American had the most players named to the team of any Division I program, and second-most in the nation.

Recent graduates Riley Grafft '12, Joe Hill '12 and Simon McCormack '12 each received the award for a second consecutive year. Hill and McCormack were also four-time Patriot League Academic Honor Roll selections while Grafft received his third Academic Honor Roll honor this year. All three earned degrees in business administration in May from the Kogod School of Business.

Rising seniors Mike Bersch (applied mathematics), Daniel Fisher (international studies), Blake Jolivette (business administration) and Daniel Munoz (business administration) were named to the Honors Court for the first time. American received the most selections in the Patriot League for the second consecutive year.

To be eligible for the NABC Honors Court a student-athlete must be either a junior or senior academically and a varsity player, have a cumulative GPA of 3.2 or higher, have matriculated at least one year at their current institution and be a member of an NCAA Division I, II, III, or NAIA Institution.

American has had 18 student-athletes named to the Honors Court in the last five years. Nick Hendra '11, Grafft, Hill and McCormack earned the distinction last season. Hendra, Matthew Wilson '10 and Bryce Simon '09 have been recognized on the team in their junior and senior seasons while Troy Brewer '12 and Travis Lay '08 have also received the award.