Top 5 Cross Country and Track Moments of 2010-11

Top 5 Cross Country and Track Moments of 2010-11

The results are in and the fans have voted Octavia Rinehardt winning two titles at the Patriot League Indoor Track and Field Championships as the top moment from the 2010-11 cross country and track seasons. Votes were collected via the American University Cross Country & Track and Field Fan Page giving fans the opportunity to voice their opinion about their favorite moments and storylines from this past season.

1. Rinehardt Wins 2 Titles at Patriot League Indoor Championships

Octavia Rinehardt won both the 3,000 and 5,000 meter runs at the 2011 Patriot League Indoor Track and Field Championships. The junior won the 5,000 with a time of 17:11.17 on the first day of competition and followed that up with a winning time of 9:59.45 in the 3,000. Rinehardt would later win the 5,000 meter at the outdoor championships, matching former All-American Kiera Carlstrom '06 as one of only two Eagles to capture three track championships in the same year.

2. Men's Track Wins 4x800 Meter Title

The team of Morgan Block, Jeff Brannigan, Alex Hula and Conor Sullivan won the men's 4x800 meter relay at the 2011 Patriot League Outdoor Track and Field Championships, posting the sixth-fastest time in school history of 7:32.40. This marked American's eighth title in the 4x800 in the last 10 years. Sullivan was also a member of American's last championship relay team in 2008 while Block, Brannigan and Hula stood atop the podium for the first time in their careers.

3. Men's Cross Country 2nd at Patriot League Championships

Led by a trio of First Team All-Patriot League performers, the American University men's cross country team placed second at the 2010 Patriot League Cross Country Championships. Craig Brown, Colin Eustis, and Jeff Brannigan led the effort with Brown placing third in a time of 24:38.0, Eustis taking fourth in 24:42.0 and Brannigan finishing fifth in 24:44.0. This was the second straight year American's men's team had finished second at the meet.

4. Koch Breaks School Record at Patriot League Indoor Championships

Erin Koch placed second in the mile run at the 2011 Patriot League Indoor Track and Field Championships and set a new school record in the process, crossing the line in an ECAC qualifying time of 4:46.19. Koch broke the previous record of 4:47.31 set on March 5, 2005 by four-time All-American Keira Carlstrom '06.

5. Eustis Named Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Colin Eustis was named the 2010 Patriot League Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year on Nov. 5, an award recognizing both his academic and athletic accomplishments. Eustis maintained a 3.699 cumulative GPA through the fall semester as a business administration major in the Kogod School of Business, specializing in both accounting and international business. The senior also excelled athletically this year, earning his second career First Team All-Patriot League honor in cross country with a fourth-place finish at the Patriot League Championships.