Men's Track Wins 4x800 Meter Title, Places 2nd in 5,000

Men's Track Wins 4x800 Meter Title, Places 2nd in 5,000

The American University men's track and field team opened the 2011 Patriot League Championships in triumphant fashion Friday, taking first place and second place in the only two events in which the team was entered.

The Eagles won the 4x800 meter relay with a time of 7:32.40, the sixth-fastest time in program history and an IC4A qualifying mark. The team of Morgan Block, Jeff Brannigan, Alex Hula and Conor Sullivan just edged out Army which finished the race in 7:32.63 to capture American's eighth 4x800 meter title in 10 years. Sullivan was also a member of American's last championship relay team in 2008 while Block, Brannigan and Hula stood atop the podium for the first time in their careers. Each will be named to the All-Patriot League First Team for their efforts.

American was also entered in the 10,000 meter run with Colin Eustis placing second in the event. Eustis posted the second-fastest time in program history to earn All-Patriot League Second Team honors, crossing the line in 30:29.70. His time also broke the Patriot League Championships record of 30:41.20 set by Matt Seymour '04 in 2004 but he was bested by Lehigh's Evans Kosgei who took home the title in 30:20.08.

Ryan Williams and Mark Leinenger also competed in the 10,000 meter and placed sixth and seventh, respectively. Williams posted a time of 31:08.57, ranking him seventh on the school's all-time top 10, while Leinenger stopped the clock in 31:10.84 to earn eighth place on the top 10.

Both the men's and women's track and field teams will be in action on Saturday, May 7 for the conclusion of the 2011 Patriot League Championships.