Wright Wins High Jump on Final Day of Patriot League Track and Field Championships

Wright Wins High Jump on Final Day of Patriot League Track and Field Championships

Zach Wright matched his school record in the high jump on Saturday to win American University's first-ever conference title in a field event as competition concluded at the 2010 Patriot League Track and Field Championships in Lewisburg, Pa. The American University men's team finished in sixth place overall while the women placed eighth.

Wright breezed through the early rounds of the high jump, clearing the opening two heights on his first attempt. The sophomore then also cleared a height of 1.99 meters on his first attempt, matching the school record he already owned. Wright was unable to clear his next height of 2.04 meters but had already locked up the victory.

Wright's victory was the Eagles' second of the weekend after Colin Eustis captured the 10,000 meter title on Friday. Both were named All-Patriot League First Team for their performances. Wright's win also marks the program's first conference championship in a field event.

Jeff Brannigan fell just short of capturing his first Patriot League championship in the 5,000 meter run, placing second in a time of 15:11.45. The junior had entered the race seeded third and finished behind only top-seeded Andrew Hanko of Navy who crossed the line in a time of 15:04.33. Brannigan's second-place finish earned him All-Patriot League Second Team honors.

Erin Koch headlined the women's team's performance on Saturday as she placed fifth in the 1,500 meter run with a time of 4:38.03. In the men's 1,500 meter, Conor Sullivan (3:59.70), Alex Lyons (4:04.15) and Chris Tonn (4:04.70) placed seventh, eighth and ninth, respectively.