Men's Track Competes at Navy Invitational

Men's Track Competes at Navy Invitational

The American University men’s track team competed in the Navy Invitational on Saturday against both Navy and Colgate. Conor Sullivan captured the Eagles lone win of the day in the 800 meter run while Zach Wright placed second in the high jump and Jeff Brannigan third in the 1500 meter run.

Sullivan, who already held the Patriot League’s top time in the 800 this season, won the event in a new personal best time of 1:53.55. His time edged the second-place finisher by just over two-tenths of a second and is less than half a second from placing him on American’s All-Time Top-10 list. Sullivan was joined in the race by James Cannon who placed fourth in a personal best 1:54.81 and Morgan Block who took seventh in 1:55.54. Dan King placed ninth in 1:56.12.

Wright continued his successful rookie season in the high jump for American by placing second with a final height of 1.94 meters, just shy of his personal record of 1.95 meters.

In the 1500 meter run, Brannigan led a trio of top-10 finishers for American with a third-place showing in 3:52.38. He was followed in fourth place by Craig Brown who posted a time of 3:55.51 and by in fifth place by Josh Olsen who crossed the line in a personal record 3:57.14.

American also placed four runners in the top-10 of the 5000 meter run led by Mark Allen’s fourth-place finish in a time of 14:54.50. Garrett Martucci finished in seventh with a time of 15:20.87 while Ryan Williams took eighth in 15:28.24 and Mark Leinenger 10th in 15:35.57.

Matt Farrow competed in both the 400 meter dash and 200 meter dash, taking fourth (50.26) and sixth (23.29), respectively. His time in the 200 represents the ninth fastest time in school history.

Both the men’s and women’s track teams will be back in action Friday and Saturday, April 9-10, at the Bison Outdoor Classic in Lewisburg, Pa. The meet will be one of two final tune-ups for the Eagles before competing in the 2010 Patriot League Outdoor Track and Field Championships which are being held this year April 30-May 1 in Lewisburg.