Carlstrom, Seymour Selected Patriot League Indoor Track Scholar-Athletes of the Year

Keira Carlstrom on Monday was named the 2004 Patriot League Indoor Track Scholar-Athlete of the Year

WASHINGTON - American University indoor track athletes Keira Carlstrom (Oakton, Va./Oakton) and Matt Seymour (Rockville, Md./Magruder) have been selected as the women's and men's Indoor Track Scholar-Athletes of the Year, Patriot League officials announced Wednesday.

Carlstrom, the first AU athlete to earn the Indoor Scholar-Athlete award, carries a 3.5 grade point average in mathematics. Just a sophomore, she has been a member of AU's Dean's List twice and has been on the Patriot League Academic Honor roll three times. In the fall, Carlstrom was named the PL's Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year after winning the league's individual title and placing 16th at the NCAA Championship Meet, the best-ever finish by a PL female.

On the track, Carlstrom this past indoor season decimated the school's indoor mile record with a time of 4:47.81, nearly eight seconds better than the previous record set by Samia Akbar in 2003. In just two indoor seasons, Carlstrom already holds the school records in the 3000m (9:43.46) and the mile, and holds the second-fastest time in AU history in the 1000m (2:55.24). Furthermore, Carlstrom has been a member of the school-record setting 4x800m and Distance Medley relays.

Matt Seymour, the PL Co-Men's Track Athlete of the Meet, earned the second PL Indoor Track Scholar-Athlete award for the Eagles.

Seymour, a history major, has a 3.94 cumulative GPA. He has been named to the PL's Academic Honor Roll five times. The scholar-athlete award is the second for the AU Indoor Track program, after the Eagles' Frank Malpigli (Bay Shore, N.Y./Bay Shore) earned the honor in 2002.

Seymour took home the PL Co-Men's Track Athlete of the Meet honors for his performance at the 2004 Patriot League Indoor Track Championships. The senior won the 3000m and 5000m races, including running the second-fastest 5000 in school history during the PL Championship meet. Seymour holds three top-10 spots on AU's all-time indoor list, including running an 8:20.19 3000m in just his sophomore season.

Patriot League Scholar-Athlete of the Year nominees must have a 3.2 cumulative GPA and be a starter or key reserve on their respective team. Winners are selected by a vote of the league's sports information directors.