AU Athletics Celebrates Annual Student-Athlete Banquet

AU Athletics Celebrates Annual Student-Athlete Banquet

Photo Gallery

Julie Crum and Tony Wroblicky were honored as the Outstanding Female and Male Senior Student-Athletes of the Year on Monday at the annual American University Student-Athlete Banquet held at the Wardman Park Marriott.

Crum was the Patriot League Volleyball Tournament MVP as the Eagles captured the Patriot League Championship. American went on to win its first two games in the NCAA Tournament and advanced to the round of 16.

Wroblicky was a First Team All-Patriot League selection in men’s basketball and earned the league’s Defensive Player of the Year Award. The Eagles, picked ninth in preseason polls, won the Patriot League title with a decisive victory at top-seeded Boston University in the conference championship.

Also on Monday night, women’s basketball student-athlete Alexis Dobbs and field hockey student-athlete Jaclyn Anspach shared the Barbara J. Reimann Postgraduate Scholarship.


Male Senior Student-Athlete of the Year
Voted on by AU's head coaches. Traditionally given to individuals with a decorated career.

Tony Wroblicky '14, Men's Basketball, Majored in Business Administration
- 2014 Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year
- 2014 All-Patriot League First Team
- Program record holder in career blocks (151) and games played (125)


Female Senior Student-Athlete of the Year
Voted on by AU's head coaches. Traditionally given to individuals with a decorated career.

Julie Crum '14, Volleyball, Majored in CLEG
- Two-time All-Patriot League First Team
- 2014 Patriot League Tournament MVP
- Ranks third all-time at American with 1,099 career digs and fourth with a career average of 2.64 digs per game


Barbara J. Reimann Postgraduate Scholarship
Awarded annually to a senior or seniors who have excelled athletically and academically and have decided to continue their education after completing an undergraduate degree.

Jaclyn Anspach '14, Field Hockey
Alexis Dobbs '14, Women's Basketball


Men's Basketball MVP
Darius 'Pee Wee' Gardner '15
All-Patriot League Second Team


Women's Basketball MVP
Alexis Dobbs '14
All-Patriot League First Team


Men's Cross Country MVP
Nick Regan '15
All-Patriot League First Team


Women's Cross Country MVP
Corina Velazco '17
Finished 15th at Patriot League Cross Country Championships


Field Hockey MVP
Shelly Montgomery
Second Team All-America


Lacrosse Co-MVP
Lauren Binstein '14
Ranked third on the team with 13 caused turnovers


Lacrosse Co-MVP
Emily Maher
Academic All-Patriot League Team


Men's Soccer MVP
Billy Knutsen '14
2012 Patriot League Goalkeeper of the Year


Women's Soccer MVP
Lindsay Muri
All-Patriot League Second Team


Men's Swimming and Diving MVP
Matt Wurm
Top point earner at Patriot League Championships


Women's Swimming and Diving MVP
Caylee Watson '17
Placed 5th in 100 Butterfly at Patriot League Championships


Men's Indoor Track MVP
Peter Rowe '17
Registered three top five finishes


Women's Indoor Track MVP
Julia Sullivan '14
ECAC qualifier in the mile and 3,000 meter run


Men's Outdoor Track MVP
Brendan Johnson '17
Finished sixth in 5,000 meter run at Patriot League Championships


Women's Outdoor Track MVP
Ali Tyburski '14
Set the third-fastest time in program history in the 800 meter run


Volleyball MVP
Julie Crum '14
All-Patriot League First Team


Wrestling MVP
David Terao
NCAA Qualifer; EIWA Second Place Finisher